About ESA


The European Society for Agronomy (ESA) is a scientific society created in 1990 with the aim of promoting the science of Agronomy and its use in agriculture and rural development across Europe.

Further to the decisions taken at the ESA General Assembly in Edinburgh and to the member’s vote held in January and February 2017 of the dissolution of the ESA association and the continuation of the ESA as a scientific network  has been agreed. Since the 1st of September 2018, the European Society for Agronomy (ESA) has now become a scientific network without any fees to pay and no more administrative secretariat and budget to manage.

The objectives of the scientific network are to initiate a Congress of the ESA every second year and to promote the exchange of scientific and practical experience between experts in agronomy. The network is coordinated by a steering committee.


Steering Committee (2022 – 2024)

ESA is managed by a steering commitee
(info@european-agronomy.org This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it )

Prof. Dr. Edith Le Cadre (France)

Prof. Dr. Edith Le Cadre (France)


Institut Agro Rennes-Angers Agrocampus Ouest edith.lecadre@agrocampus-ouest.fr

Prof. Dr. Claas Nendel (Germany)

Prof. Dr. Claas Nendel (Germany)

Past President (Secretary)

Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF) nendel@zalf.de

Dr. Evelin Loit (Estonia)

Dr. Evelin Loit (Estonia)

President Elect

Estonian University of Life Sciences evenin.loit@emu.ee

Prof. Dr. Pirjo Peltonen-Sainio (Finland)

Prof. Dr. Pirjo Peltonen-Sainio (Finland)

European Journal of Agronomy (EJA)

Elsevier Science pirjo.peltonen-sainio@luke.fi

Steering Commitee (since 2017)

President Past President
President Elect European Journal of
2022-2024 E. Le Cadre (France) C. Nendel (Germany) E. Loit (Estonia) P. Peltonen-Sainio (Finland)
C. Nendel (Germany) A. Delgado (Spain) E. Le Cadre (France) P. Peltonen-Sainio (Finland)
2018-2020 A. Delgado (Spain) C. Carlen (Switzerland) C. Nendel (Germany) P. Peltonen-Sainio (Finland)
2017-2018 C. Carlen (Switzerland) C. Watson (UK) A. Delgado (Spain) P. Peltonen-Sainio (Finland)

 Executive Boards (1990 – 2017)

President Past President President Elect Executive Secretariat
2016-2017 Ch. Carlen (Switzerland) C. Watson (UK) A. Delgado (Spain) J. Wery (F)
2014-2016 C. Watson (UK) P. Pepó(Hu) B. Jeangros (Switzerland) J. Wery (F)
2012-2014 P. Pepó(Hu) F. Stoddart (Fin) C. Watson (UK) J. Wery (F)
2010-2012 F. Stoddart (Fin) J. Wery (F) A. Nábrádi (Hu) J. Wery (F)
2008-2010 J. Wery (F) P. Rossi (I) F. Stoddart (Fin) M. Donatelli (I)
2006-2008 P. Rossi (I) M. Fotyma (PL) J. Wery (F) M. Donatelli (I)
2004-2006 M. Fotyma (PL) J. Roy Porter (DK) P. Rossi (I) M. Donatelli (I)
2002-2004 J. Roy Porter (DK) E. Fereres (SP) M. Fotyma (PL) M. Donatelli (I)
2000-2002 E. Fereres (SP) H. Stutzel (D) J.Roy Porter (DK) D. Picard (F)
1998-2000 H. Stutzel (D) M. Zima (SK) E. Fereres (SP) D. Picard (F)
1996-1998 M. Zima (SK) H. Spiertz (NL) H. Stutzel (D) D. Picard (F)
1994-1996  H. Spiertz (NL) L. Giardini (I) M. Zima (SK) P. Girardin (F)
1992-1994 L. Giardini (I) A. Scaif (UK) H. Spiertz (NL) P. Girardin (F)
1990-1992  A. Scaif (UK) D. Picard (F) P. Girardin (F)
1989-1990  Launching committee chaired by D. Picard, co-chaired by A. Scaife P. Girardin (F)